The Essex Road Running Championships is held over over six races throughout the year over various distances - marathon, 20M, 10M, malf marathon, 10K and 5M. If you finish in the top three overall or at your age group, you receive a treasured Essex medal.  The championships also operate a Grand Prix type scheme, whereby the top 25 runners in each category are awarded points. These points are totted up over the six races and the top three in each age group are awarded Essex medals.

To qualify, you need to belong to a club, have lived in Essex or east London as far west as the River Lea for the last nine months or have been born within the same area.

When entering an Essex Road Championships race, make sure you tick the Essex qualified box.

The fixtures for 2020 are:

Essex Grand Prix dates:

Endurance Running in Essex The 2020 Essex Road Grand Prix events will be:

1st March - Rochford "Essex 20" this is the official London Marathon warm up
3rd May - Witham 10 Mile
10th May - Halstead Marathon
26th June - Pleshey 5 Mile
20th September - Pleshey Half Marathon
15th November - Chelmsford 10K
Go to top